h1

Pitch Checklist

October 21, 2013

I’m soon sending agents queries for my YA manuscript. It’s a daunting process. Am I ready? Is it good enough? Will someone like it? My answer to all of the above is YES. Of course, that hasn’t stopped me from wishing upon a star.

Here’s a checklist for the query letter:

-catchy (but not corny) opening

-simple yet sophisticated sentence structure

-strong voice

-brief synopsis

-book comparison and word count

-correct spelling and grammar

-professional credentials

-thank you

As for my manuscript, my checklist included:

-unique voice

-character growth

-plot development

-mystery and intrigue

-opening hook

-strong climax

-developed subplots

-edit and revision (like 200 times!)

Wish me luck!

One comment

  1. Best to you! I think writing is fun kids’ play next to the process of getting something published. It looks like your list is well thought out, and you’ve done everything you can–from writing a long-standing blog to researching and sharing ideas. I’ve read some of your blogs. You’re determined and you’re bright. You’re going to make it someday.



Leave a Reply

