h1

Summer Libraries

July 6, 2012

When I think of a library, I think of air-conditioning. Weird, but true. I grew up in humid Ohio with no central air, so I spent some long summer days at the library.

Now, I live where it snows every month except July, so air-conditioning is not something I need to savor. However, I still love the library in the summer. The smell of torn pages and new books wakes me up. Besides, libraries have awesome summer programs for kids. They host reading contests, art projects, jugglers, story-tellers, musicians, and local legends. With the increase in e-books and a sketchy publishing industry, libraries are struggling to stay afloat. In some areas, funds have been cut drastically, and they’ve had to close. While this isn’t a political blog, it is today. Support your local library! If you haven’t been in a while, check one out. They really are amazing places, with our without air-conditioning.

One comment

  1. I love my local library and the huge one in the city. They’re both wonderful. I kind of want to steal all their posters and visit in on children’s story time. They all look so adorable sitting on that carpet that looks like a map.



Leave a Reply

