h1

What’s your Favorite Book?

December 6, 2011

My senior year in college I was on a quest to read everything I’d missed in my education. Well, kind of.

By asking my friends, family, and colleagues to give me the names of their favorite reads, I created an incredible reading list. What was curious was that friends, who did not know each other but had similar personalities, had some of the same favorite books on their lists. I haven’t updated the project in years. So, I’ll do it now.

If you’re willing, post your favorite fifty right here. Try and mix it up. If War and Peace really is your favorite, definitely add it to the list. But give us your favorite kid-lit as well. Hop on Pop?

If you don’t have fifty, two will do. Or ten. It doesn’t matter; just post some favorite books so we can all get reading!

 

 

3 comments

  1. Stuart Little by EB White
    Droll Stories by Balzac – three books
    Gargantuan and Pentagruel by Rabelais
    The Hobbit and Lord of Rings series by Tolkien – 4 books
    The Sky and the Forest by CS Forrester
    The Hornblower series same author – 10 books
    The Flashman series by Frazer – 10 books
    The Stars Like Dust – Brian Aldiss I think
    Starship, also Brian Aldiss I think
    The Tales of Lost Space and Ringworld series – Larry Niven – about 10 books
    The Sword of Golem – don’t recall the author
    A Majority of Scoundrels – don’t recall the author
    Comanche by Fehrenbach
    The Narnia series by CS Lewis about 10 books
    uck Finn and Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain 2 books
    Everything by Kurt Vonnegut, probably 20 books
    Everything by John Steinbeck – probably 15 books
    The People of the Lie by M. Scott Peck
    Everything by Dorothy Sayers – maybe 40 books

    That’s all that come to mind at the moment, though I’m sure there are a lot of others.


  2. The Silmarillion, by J.R.R. Tolkien
    The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern
    Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
    The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas
    The Jewel of Seven Stars, by Bram Stoker

    Just a few for starters.


  3. So hard. Currently, I am reading the American Library Edition of Dawn Powell’s Novels, 1930-1942 and really enjoying them. My favorite for all of 2011 was The Northern Clemency. Others include Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and Ken Kesey’s Sometimes a Great Notion.

    Others:

    Special Topics in Calamity Physics
    The Secret History, Donna Tartt

    See how bad I am? I can’t always remember authors! Apologies to authors!



Leave a Reply

