h1

The Help

January 14, 2010

We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I’d thought. –The Help by Kathryn Stockett

In honor of Martin Luther King, my blog takes a different approach this entry.

Someone told me The Help was a book about Southern Black maids, and the women they served during the early 1960’s. It is. But it’s so much more.

Kathryn Stockett wrote a fictional book about Jackson, Mississippi during desegregation. She wrote about mothers and daughters. Race. Culture. And identity. She wrote a story about the poor and the rich. About suffering and triumph.

She writes of women.

There are so many things I could say about The Help, but I’ll say only one. Read it.

3 comments

  1. This looks like a book for both of my book clubs. I’m glad to have read your insightful review.


  2. Loved, loved, loved this book. You are right, Carrie, it is about so much more. Such wonderful writing, I could have read for another 500 pages.


  3. Your blog is the third time I’ve heard about this book in as many days. My name’s on the list at our local library, thanks to you.



Leave a Reply

