h1

Who needs a break?

January 6, 2010

You Deserve a Break Today -McDonald’s Slogan

If you’ve grabbed your glasses to read this blog, you’re old enough to remember McDonald’s slogan. Don’t we all deserve a break today? I know I do. In fact, you might not want to read on. I’m a little whiney this morning.

The holidays were magical. But a black cloud hovered around the corners of the spell. In the past three weeks, our house turned from this old house to this bad house. A cheap tub, an even cheaper sink, and a broken dishwasher caused major leak damage in three different rooms. I broke a tooth, a runaway boat crashed into our yard (odd, but true), my dog ate a bone that caused an infected tooth, and a tire flew off my husband’s car. The stomach flu plagued the entire family, and yours truly made dandy friends with a scrub brush. Blah, blah, blah, right?

BUT, it’s a new year and I’m tagging along behind Mcee D’s jingle. While my waist line doesn’t need the two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese all on a sesame seed bun (who remembers that little ditty?), my mind needs a break. I need to take pause and be grateful. Maybe not for the vomit, but for the rest of my health. For my family. For my friends. For all of it.

By finding a few minutes to remember the good, the bad doesn’t seem quite so bad. So take your break today and remember, it is a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

