h1

Eleanor Roosevelt Hated Dogs

April 6, 2009

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. . . You must do the thing you think you cannot do.

-Eleanor Roosevelt

I don’t like dogs. There, I said it…or at least wrote it down for all to see. Lightening may strike my house, but at least I put it to paper. The weight is lifting already.

It’s a long list. I don’t like barking, biting, or jumping. I don’t like wet noses rubbing against me. I definitely don’t like getting my legs licked in the summer. I don’t like dog hairs on my jeans. I don’t like remembering my mom being knocked down by a Doberman.

Of course, I have a dog. And, I love her. Go figure.

I never thought I would, but I gave a puppy to my husband for Christmas. It was a long time ago. Ten days later, I discovered I was pregnant. Bad karma. Having a puppy and a newborn is a bit like drinking tequila and driving a car. The two don’t mix.

As the years have passed, I’ve learned to love my dog. While I still shun from a slobbering Snoopy, I’ve found affection for man’s best friend. Saki greets me with a wagging tail no matter what my mood. She provides companionship and safety and unconditional love for my family.

I’m still afraid of some dogs. I still don’t like other dogs. But, I’ve also learned from them. By facing my fear and doing the thing I never thought I’d do, I’ve learned to smile at wagging tails. As long as they don’t jump.

Leave a Reply

